top of page


Community Foundation of White County

Starburst white.png

There’s always something happening at your community foundation – and we’re always delighted to share good news about our wonderful community!

Arrows down.png
  • Leslie Goss


The Community Foundation of White County is honored to announce the names of seven finalists chosen for its 2021 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship:

Brayden Buschman, North White High School

Schelby Clothier, Frontier High School

Gracie Craig, Twin Lakes High School

Natalie Deck, Twin Lakes High School

Natalie Rodrigues, Twin Lakes High School

Logan Schneidt, Tri-County High School

Daniel Wisner, North White High School

Lilly Scholars receive four years of tuition and required fees, plus a $900 book stipend, to any accredited nonprofit Indiana college or university of their choosing.

A total of 35 applications were reviewed by a committee composed of community

representatives from each of White County’s four school districts, chaired by a representative of the Community Foundation. Considerations for selection include financial need, community, school and work involvement, written essay, three recommendation letters, and a B- or better grade average.

White County’s process is “blind” – i.e. names of all applicants remain anonymous, and

applications are identified only by an assigned number.

As a final step in White County’s process, each finalist is interviewed by the selection


Recommendations of the Community Foundation of White County scholarship

committee are submitted to the CFWC Governing Council and the Community Foundation of

Greater Lafayette for approval, then forwarded to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for final review and selection of the recipients by a statewide committee composed of

representatives from ICI, Lilly Endowment, college professors, former Lilly Scholars, and

community foundation representatives.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting,

nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are recognized as leaders and mentors by both

peers and adults in their communities. As Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship recipients, they will maintain contact with the Community Foundation of White County for four years of college as well as for ten years after their graduation.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1)

to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the

beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to

encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities

throughout the state.

Announcement of White County’s 2021 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

recipient will be made in early December.

9 views0 comments


bottom of page